The Wurzels Archives

The Wurzels

"A Taste Of The West"   CD

This CD of new material by The Wurzels was released on June 28th 2004 on the CIA record label, catalogue number CIA001

Track Listing:

  • 1. Pill Pill (Cutler)
    2. Sunny Weston Super Mare (Trad arr/Budd)
    3. Virtuet Industrial (Cutler)
    4. Down In Nempnett Thrubwell (Davis/Cutler)
    5. When The Common Market Comes To Stanton  Drew 
    6. The Shepton Mallet Matador (Cutler)

  • 7. The Charlton Mackrell Jug Band (Sheldon)
    8. Ferry To Glastonbury (Cutler/Thomas)
    9. Bridgwater Town (George)
    10. Rock Around The A38 (Banner/Baylis/Budd)
    11. Mevagissey (Budd)
    12. Good Ole Somerset (Banner/Budd/Wright)

The CD Album:

This release was a re-recording of eleven of the group's favourite Wurzels songs plus one new previously unreleased track 'Bridgwater Town'. The tracks were linked by Tommy and Pete chatting about the songs and the areas they represented such that the whole album became a journey around the West Country from North Somerset down to Cornwall. All the tracks were produced quite differently to the original recordings with very effective results.

The CD itself was a silver background with the printed image being a grey-green silhouette version of the album artwork.

The Wurzels Archives

The Wurzels Archives

The case insert was a simple coloured folder sheet with basic information regarding the release.
The Wurzels Archives

Collectors' Extras:

A signed case insert is always a good addition to a collection as in this example - signed by Tommy Banner, Pete Budd, John Morgan and Jai Howe.

The Wurzels Archives

page content by Jonathan Conibere ©2021