The Wurzels

"The Wurzels Christmas Album" CD

This release was a first for The Wurzels - devoted as it was entirely to well-known Christmas songs. This CD of all-new material by The Wurzels was released on November 14th 2011 on the CIA record label, catalogue number CIA CD018. It was repressed several times in the ensuing years, all pressings being the same.

The Band Line-Up:

At the time of the recording of this album The Wurzels consisted of Pete Budd, Tommy Banner, Sedge Moore and John Morgan. The CD was recorded and produced by part-time Wurzel Louie 'Gribble' Nicastro. Further musical contributions came from a multitude of guests as detailed on the case insert.

Track Details:

  • 1.    White Christmas Irving (Berlin)
    2.   Santa Claus Is Coming To Town (John Frederick
          Coots & Haven Gillespie) 
    3.   Merry Christmas Everybody (Noddy Holder & Jim
    4.   Sleigh Ride (Leroy Anderson) 
    5.   Let It Snow (Sammy Cahn & Jule Styne)
    6.   Fairytale Of New York (Jem Finer & Shane
    7.   I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday (Roy Wood) 
    8.  Rockin Around The Christmas Tree (Johnny Marks)  9.  Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer (Johnny Marks)  10. When A Child Is Born (Fred Jay & Ciro Dammicco)  11. Winter Wonderland (Felix Bernard & Richard
          B Smith) 
    12. Happy Xmas (War Is Over) (John Lennon &
          Yoko Ono)

The CD :

The packaging for this CD release was on a higher commercial level than all previous releases - from the CD imprinted with a Christmas dinner sat on a chequered table cloth to a very informative festive fold-out insert shown below.

Collectors' Extras:

A signed case insert is always a good addition to a collection as in this example - signed by Tommy Banner, Pete Budd, John Morgan Sedge Moore and Louie Gribble

Promotional flyer emailed out to members of the official social media subscriber's list in 2011 in advance of the album's release.