The Wurzels Archives

The Wurzels

"Top Of The Crops" CD

This CD of freshly recorded versions of their standard gig material was released on September 4th 2006. It was issued on the CIA record label, catalogue number CIA002. It was made available as an internet download in 2008.

The Band Line-Up:

Band line-up at the time of this recording was Pete Budd (vocals, banjo), Tommy Banner (accordion, vocals), Jai Howe (bass, vocals) and John Morgan (drums, vocals). The CD was produced and recorded by Louie Nicastro who also, as part time Wurzel, provided additional instruments.

Track Listing:

  • 1. The Blackbird (P Budd/T Banner/T Baylis)
    2. The Champion Dung Spreader (A Cutler)
    3. The Marrow Song (Oh! What A Beauty) (Edrich Siebert)
    4. Farmer Bill's Cowman (R Greenway/T Banner/R Cook/T          Baylis)
    5. The Shepton Mallet Matador (A Cutler)
    6. Chitterling (A Cutler)
  • 7. Don't Tell I Tell 'Ee (K Sheldon/Crozier)
    8. Give Me England (E Welch/Barratt)
    9. I'll Never Get A Scrumpy Here (E Welch)
    10. I Am A Cider Drinker (H Bouwens/The Wurzels)
    11. Don't Look Back In Anger (Gallagher)
    12. Combine Harvester (M Safka/ B O'Shaughnessy)
    13. Drink Up Thy Zider (A Cutler)

The CD Album:

This release is a collection of the tracks that the band regularly played at gigs at the time of this release. The CD contains an amalgam of tracks recorded in the studio but very cleverly arranged and mastered to give a true feel of a live show.

The case insert is a folded glossy lightweight card with the tracks and credits clearly laid out on the inside.

The Wurzels Archives

The Wurzels Archives

The case insert was a simple coloured folder sheet with basic information regarding the release.
The Wurzels Archives

Collectors' Extras:

A signed case insert is always a good addition to a collector as in this example - signed by Tommy Banner, Pete Budd, John Morgan and Jai Howe.

The Wurzels Archives

page content by Jonathan Conibere ©2021